Roxie2019-01-19T15:27:04+00:00

Project Description

Roxie

Breed: Lab/Hound/Rhodesian Ridgeback X

Gender: Female

Age: 1 year

Weight: 75 lbs

Needs: pet free home, kids 12 years+

Hi, I’m Roxie!

Let me tell you a bit about myself – I am only a year old, I weigh about 75 lbs and (if I had to guess) I’d say I’m some sort of Rhodesian Ridgeback/Lab/Hound mix. Everyone who meets me tells me that I am a gorgeous girl!

Even though I’m one year old, I am discovering many things for the first time. My first year of life was very difficult. I lived with people who did not treat me well, did not teach me much, and left me locked on a balcony all day and night. As a result, I have not been exposed to many things in my life, and now everything is new and scary. When I first came home from the shelter, I was afraid of everything – from strange people, to other dogs, and even the television! (Don’t worry, I’ve learned to love Netflix just as much as my foster parents do now!).

Now, I am learning that I can trust people, that no one is going to hurt me, and that the world isn’t such a scary place.

I am looking for a special human – one who is patient with me and committed to building my confidence, exposing me to new things, and continuing my training.

My foster mom says that I am very eager to please, and a fast learner. Once I trust you, I am your best friend for life! I am affectionate and loving and obedient in my foster home. My foster family calls me their ‘shadow’ – but that’s just because I love them so much that I want to be with them everywhere they go!

Even though I had such a difficult start to life, I am already making so much progress! My foster family says that I have so much potential – and that I’m a “very good girl.’

Not to show off or anything, but so far:
– I am fully house-trained
– I am crate trained (and can be left alone while my foster family goes to work)
– I already know so many tricks (like sit, down, stay, off, shake a paw) – and I’m only just getting started!

My favourite things in the world are belly rubs, playing fetch and snuggling up real close to my humans.

Even though I still have a few things to learn and work on, I promise to give back so much love to the lucky family who adopts me. I am looking for:
– A pet free home
– A savvy owner who makes me feel safe and can work on my wariness of new people
– Someone special who is going to show me how wonderful the world can be!

I am so ready to find a family that I can love, trust and share my life with. Could it be you?

Adopt Me